Do cleansing wipes count as cleansing?
Where a Korean wipe prints a usage text, it tells you to wash afterwards. Only 9 of 32 print a concentration, and the one that skips the rinse carries an acid.

Short answer: no, not on their own, and you do not have to take our word for it. The brands say so on their own pages.
Every wipe we read that prints a usage text tells you to follow it with something. One says finish with a foam cleanser and water. Another instructs an optional rinse in the paragraph directly below the headline claiming one sheet is enough. A third routes waterproof makeup to a separate remover entirely.
Of the 32 Korean cleansing tissues we read, only 9 print a concentration for anything. Twenty are fragrance-free and eleven carry a fragrance entry.
Why does a wipe need a second step?
Because of what the cleansing actually is, and what happens after it.
Not one of the wipes below carries a sulfate, a soap, or an amphoteric betaine. They are all nonionic solubiliser systems, usually two polyglyceryl esters or two PEG esters, over a water and glycol base.
That construction is genuinely mild and it works: those surfactants dissolve sebum soluble film and pigment on contact. The problem is the second half. A wipe has no rinse built into it, so the surfactant, the dissolved makeup and the glycols all stay on your face until something takes them off.
This is why the format is a first cleanse rather than a cleanse. It moves the soil around and lifts most of it onto the sheet, and what it leaves behind is exactly what a water based wash is for.
One more thing to notice as you read. Several of these products carry actives at undisclosed levels, and a wipe with no rinse leaves those on the skin too. That turns out to matter most for the one product here that tells you not to rinse.
Plantnara Jeju Carbonated Water Deep Cleansing Tissue
The shortest ingredient list of the five here at 14 entries, and the clearest usage text in the whole set.
The brand's own instruction runs: wipe eye and lip makeup first, then the whole face, then finish with a foam cleanser and water. For waterproof makeup it points you at a separate lip and eye remover from the same line.
That is the entire question answered by the manufacturer, in the manufacturer's own words, on the product's own page. A brand that wanted you to believe the wipe was sufficient would not write that sentence.
The cleansing engine is two mild nonionic solubilisers, polyglyceryl-10 laurate at position 4 and polysorbate 20 at position 7, with glycols doing the wetting. Mineral water is disclosed at 500 parts per million at position 9.
The hydration language on the page has real ingredients behind it, with dipropylene glycol second, glycerin third and panthenol eleventh. It is also being delivered through a product the same page tells you to rinse off, so the humectants get wiped on and then washed away. That is not a criticism of the wipe, it is a reason not to buy it for its moisturising.
There is a fragrance entry on this one.
Disclosed: mineral water at 500 parts per million Rinse instructed: yes, explicitly
Round Lab 1025 Dokdo Cleansing Tissue

The product where the headline and the instructions disagree, on the same page, a few centimetres apart.
The marketing line says the sheet is thick and large enough that one sheet alone removes makeup and soil completely. Directly below it, the brand's own usage block instructs a 5 to 10 second dwell for point makeup and then an optional light water rinse or second cleanse as needed.
Both statements are the brand's. We are not catching anyone out here; we are pointing at the one that is operationally useful, which is the second.
What this label does exceptionally well is its fragrance claim. The page states the product has no fragrance added, and reading all 24 entries against the fragrance families a label has to declare, none of the 24 is any of them. There is no oil phase at all. That is a free-from claim that closes completely, which is rarer than it should be.
The irritation test is also better attributed than most: a named research institute, a named design, a named endpoint and a stated outcome. What is missing is the panel size, the duration and the date, and the certificate itself is served as an image.
One claim does not check out. The thick embossed sheet is described but no archived surface corroborates the sheet construction, so the fabric is an assertion rather than a specification.
The cleansing system is polyglyceryl-6 caprylate at position 4, ahead of everything except two glycols, with polyglyceryl-4 caprate at 15. There is also a protease at 14, which is an unusual thing to find in a wipe.
Disclosed: nothing Rinse instructed: yes, as an option, in the brand's own usage block
Round Lab Birch Moisture Cleansing Pad

The single exception, and the reason the exception matters.
This is the one product here whose instructions prescribe no rinse. You take a pad, wipe makeup and soil away with the embossed face, finish with the smooth face, and that is the end of the routine as written.
Now read what is on the pad. Capryloyl salicylic acid sits at position 18 and it is a genuine keratolytic, at an undisclosed level. Ascorbic acid is at 17, in the unbuffered acid form rather than a stabilised derivative, also undisclosed.
So the one wipe that tells you not to wash your face afterwards is the one leaving a salicylate and an unbuffered vitamin C on your skin at levels nobody states. If you are already using an exfoliating step, that is two exfoliating mechanisms stacked into one, and you cannot bound either of them. The salicylate is also why this product carries a pregnancy caution.
The size reasoning on the page is worth learning to spot. The copy argues that an 8cm pad covers more skin and therefore one pad is enough. Contact area governs how many strokes it takes to cover a face. It does not govern whether one pad's worth of essence carries enough surfactant to emulsify a face's worth of sebum and makeup, which is a dose question that a size figure cannot answer.
The mildness is real: four polyglyceryl esters plus a succinate, all nonionic, with no sulfate, no soap and no betaine anywhere. And a vegan certification here attaches specifically to the fabric, not to the essence, which carries several synthesised materials.
The brand describes the product as weakly acidic. No pH figure appears on any surface we could reach, only the word.
Disclosed: nothing Rinse instructed: no
sidmool Dr.Troub Skin Returning Cleansing Milk Tissue
A disclosed figure, a completeness claim the formula cannot support, and an ingredient count that does check out.
Milk protein extract is printed at 1,000 parts per million at position 6 of 23.
The page promises that one tissue clears everything. It cannot. This is a water and glycol system with two polyglyceryl solubilisers and effectively no oil phase, which makes it a light first cleanse. Film forming and waterproof makeup are the job of an oil or a balm, and no amount of wiping changes that.
The no oil framing is also very slightly off. A medium chain triglyceride sits at position 19, which is an oil by composition, though at that depth it is more plausibly a solubilising aid than an oil phase.
Credit where it is due on the ingredient roll call. The page advertises milk protein, ceramide, panthenol and a triple hyaluronic acid, and counting the list returns exactly that: milk protein at 6, ceramide NP at 7, panthenol at 9, and three hyaluronate family entries at 10, 11 and 12. Three means three.
This product carries no usage block at all, so whether the brand expects a second cleanse is simply unrecorded.
Disclosed: milk protein extract at 1,000 parts per million Rinse instructed: not stated anywhere
SRB Rice Water Rice Bran Cleansing Pad

Two disclosed figures, and the clearest case of a dose and a format killing a claim together.
Rice extract is at 1,000 parts per million at position 10 of 15. Rice bran extract is at 100 parts per million at position 14, printed with a line break before the figure.
The page advertises that rice bran boasts a higher antioxidant figure than blueberries. No assay, no unit and no measured value appears anywhere, so the figure it is boasting about has no referent.
And the dose settles it regardless. The brand's own label puts rice bran extract at 100 parts per million, which is 0.01 percent of the soak, in a format that is wiped off within a minute. Whatever the antioxidant content of rice bran is, this is not the product that delivers it.
The patent line has the same problem: no number, no jurisdiction, no filing date, and it sits on a raw material story page rather than on this product's page. The underlying lipase chemistry it describes is real, but the materials it describes are not the material printed on this label.
The routine placement is stated plainly: makeup removal and first cleanse, before a water based second cleanse.
Disclosed: rice extract 1,000 parts per million, rice bran extract 100 parts per million Rinse instructed: yes, a second cleanse
So when is a wipe the right tool?
When you cannot get to a sink. Travel, the gym, a long day, a night when the alternative is sleeping in your makeup. A wipe followed by nothing beats nothing, every time, and we would rather you used one than skipped the whole thing.
As a first cleanse before a wash, it is a legitimate step. That is where the brands themselves put it.
What it is not is a replacement for a wash. Every mechanism in these products ends with soil and surfactant sitting on your face, and the only thing that removes them is water and a cleanser. If you want to know whether you need the second step at all, we went through that in do you need to double cleanse.
Check for an acid before you skip the rinse. One product here prescribes no rinse and carries a salicylate and an unbuffered vitamin C at undisclosed levels. That combination deserves a deliberate decision rather than an accidental one.
And do not buy a wipe for its ingredients. 23 of the 32 we read print no concentration for anything, and even the disclosed figures sit in a product that leaves your face in under a minute. Buy it for convenience, which is the thing it genuinely delivers. For a rinse-off route that suits reactive skin, weakly acidic cleansers is the better shelf, and cleansing waters covers the no-rinse liquid format and what it costs.
Common questions
Are cleansing wipes bad for your skin?
The formulas here are mild by construction, all nonionic with no sulfates or soaps. The risk is not the surfactant, it is the mechanical dragging of a dry-ish sheet across skin and the residue left behind. Both get smaller if you use a wet sheet gently and rinse afterwards.
Can I use a wipe instead of micellar water?
They do a similar job by a similar mechanism, and both are usually followed by a wash. The wipe adds friction and the convenience of not needing a cotton pad. Neither is a substitute for a cleanser on a day you wore sunscreen.
Will a wipe remove sunscreen?
Partly. Modern sunscreens are built to resist water and rubbing, which is the point of them, and a nonionic wipe with no oil phase is not the right solvent. Use an oil or balm first on sunscreen days.
Why do some wipes have exfoliating acids in them?
Usually to add a keratin-care claim to the product. It is worth knowing about, because a wipe has no rinse step, so the acid stays on. If the product does not disclose the level, you have no way to size it.
Is a thicker or bigger sheet better?
It changes how many strokes you need and how much essence the sheet holds. It does not change how much surfactant is present, which is what actually decides whether one sheet can clear a face.
If you have a wipe and cannot tell whether its page asks you to rinse, send us the listing and we will look for the usage block.
Products mentioned
2 claims checked
Claims, checked
Open the sticker, pull out a cleansing tissue and lightly rub and wipe from eye & lip makeup to the whole face.Finish washing with cleansing foam and water.For waterproof makeup it is even better to use the Plantnara Jeju Carbonated Water Lip and Eye Remover together.
plausible, not testedUnisex / Cleansing tissue / Skin type : all skin / Pouch type / Moisture supply / Main ingredients: Jeju lemon, prickly pear, camellia flower
partly backed

Round Lab
1025 Dokdo Cleansing Tissue
Key Sea Water, Hyaluronic Acid
7 claims, summarized
- Tests passed:
- dermatologist check
See each claim
Claims, checked
It is a fragrance free product with no added fragrance.
backed by evidenceA fresh and moist water-type cleansing tissue
partly backedThe cleansing water soaked into the thick embossed sheet cleanly wipes away makeup and skin impurities.
partly backedUlleungdo deep sea water and triple hyaluronic acid leave moistness on the skin even after wiping.
partly backedUnlike oil-type tissues that leave a slippery residue, you will also like how it finishes fresh with a water base.
partly backedTesting institution : Korea Institute of Dermatological Science / Test result : in a human application study on primary skin irritation evaluation, judged to belong to the low irritation product group
partly backedThe sheet is thick and large, so even one sheet cleanly removes makeup and skin impurities. After wiping it finishes fresh yet moist, with no slipperiness or residue.
overstated

Round Lab
Birch Moisture Cleansing Pad
It's made for calmer skin.
Key Betula Alba Juice, Hyaluronic Acid, Panthenol
4 claims, summarized
- Only partly backed:
- better hydration · less visible pores · calmer skin (supplier data)
See each claim
Claims, checked
The dense lattice-type pad holds a large amount of essence, gently removing makeup and impurities and caring for skin that stays moist without tightness even after washing.
partly backedImmediately after 1 use, skin moisture increased by 139.07%, helping improve skin moisturisation, and in a 3-type cleansing power evaluation impurities inside pores fell 96.19%, fine dust simulant cleansing power fell 99.33% and sunscreen fell 82.83%, proving outstanding cleansing power and moist hydrating power.
partly backedBirch Moisture Cleansing Pad is an eco-friendly product that uses no animal raw materials and uses 100% naturally derived vegan certified fabric, and it is a weakly acidic pad that not only removes impurities inside the skin but also comfortably soothes skin made sensitive by mask wearing, without irritation.
partly backedProduct power in which the large 8cm pad size covers a wide area of skin, so just a single pad shortens the bothersome cleansing process quickly and easily
overstated
Key Milk Protein Extract, Ceramide, Panthenol
4 claims checked
Claims, checked
With milk protein + ceramide + panthenol + 3-layer hyaluronic acid, it stays moist and clean even after cleansing!
partly backedEasy pull-out type non-oily cleansing tissue!
partly backedAnytime, anywhere, conveniently with one tissue, all clear~
overstatedGentle but powerful! Adding convenience to the purity of milk!
nothing specific to check
3 claims checked
Claims, checked
It holds a patent for manufacturing a stable RICE BRAN EXTRACT by inactivating lipase during the milling process, and holds patents on the manufacture of RICE BRAN EXTRACT POWDER / RICE BRAN FIBER / RICE BRAN DEXTRIN.
partly backedRice bran, boasting a higher figure than blueberries, which are famous for antioxidants
overstatedSRB, which holds a patent on the manufacture of rice water rice bran
no supporting source found


